The Netherlands

West 8 urban design & landscape architecture b.v.

Nico Koomanskade 1021
3072 LM Rotterdam
The Netherlands

+31 (0) 10 485 5801


West 8 Brussels urban design & landscape architecture bvba

Waaienberg 123
1745 Opwijk

+31 (0) 10 485 5801

United States

West 8 urban design & landscape architecture p.c.

2133 Arch Street, Suite 101
Philadelphia, PA 19103
United States of America

+1 347 371 2252

West 8, Moffatt & Nichol and LSU-CSS receive merit award in the 2016 ASLA-NY Chapter Design Awards

The American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA) New York Chapter has announced the recipients of its 2016 Design Award Winners. The Giving Delta Proposal for the Changing Course Design Competition by West 8, Moffatt & Nichol and LSU-CSS, has received a Merit Award in the Analysis, Planning, Research and Communications category.

Of the 55 award submissions, 18 projects received “Honor” or “Merit” designations across five categories. The winning projects were selected by an interdisciplinary jury comprised of landscape architects and allied professionals from the Southern California Chapter of the ASLA. This year’s jury responded favorably to the interesting collection of valuable ideas and research-based design solutions presented by award winners, such as The Giving Delta.

Developed for the multidisciplinary design competition Changing Course, The Giving Delta outlines a bold, yet implementable solution to the existential threat of landloss and climate change currently facing coastal Louisiana. The proposal introduces controlled flooding, and relocates and realigns Port facilities and the River Channel itself, ensuring sediment is deposited permanently into the littoral zone. Combining transformative moves and incremental improvements on an annual cycle, the proposal offers a more resilient future for the Lower Mississippi Delta.

West 8 and the other award winners will be celebrated at a Ceremony and Reception at the Center for Architecture, 536 LaGuardia Place on April 7th at 6 pm. The award winning work will also be exhibited at the Center for Architecture from April 1st. The exhibition will remain on display through April 30th.

For more information about the event or exhibition visit

To view the full list of Award Recipients read the official press release